What is a Founder to do!

Reading about Steve’s Job’s illness and his subsequent withdrawal to the sidelines, has got me thinking about how hard it is to let go.   I have recent experience of this as after 4 years of being the CEO; I am, this year stepping aside, so that my co-founder can succeed me in the role, taking over the responsibilities of the day-to-day management of the business.

I will glory in the title of Executive Deputy Chairman and it will mean is that I will have the freedom to map out the future of MoBank, particularly with regard to international expansion and strategic partnerships.  I will also keep a paternal interest in the brand and culture and continue to be the face of MoBank  (to protect the ego!).

However, it is no good kidding myself my influence is reduced and will generate feelings in me similar to those experienced when my children trotted off to University. In that I am not sure I am entirely comfortable, worry about their welfare and how they will cope?  You simply have to accept the time has come to let go and just hope that you have equipped them for the future.  Comfort is derived from the fact you are only a phone call and car drive away from being able to help (help meaning in most cases cash!).

In reality, as co-founders we have always shared the same vision, values and views on how to achieve our objectives and I expect that things will continue that way.  So I am really cool (really) and look forward to MoBank continuing to prosper and playing fully my part.  I have, however, on musing on my dilemma been inspired to pen a few lines of verse on how I may have felt the emphasis on MAY!!.

What is a Founder to do?

When the time of his stewardship is thro’

How can he really let go, bear to set free

The thing that he cherished, his beautiful baby

How can he find the strength and extraordinary humility?

To accept he has done all he can to the limit of his ability

Sit back; move politely aside for a worthy other

To occupy his place and not to bother

Truth is, there virtually is no chance of him leaving with good grace

It will take a sledgehammer and dynamite inserted in a strategic place

His view is that no one will grasp what was uniquely intended

How can changes be made and he not be mortally offended

Like or not, dignity will dictate there is no other conclusion

He needs to withdraw all that is left is the delusion

That one day he will be asked to remount his trusty white horse

Heroically returning to steer things back on to the right course.

Leave a comment